SFB 1187 ›Medien der Kooperation‹ an der Universität Siegen

INF - Infrastructural Concepts for Research on Cooperative Media

 

Principal Investigators:

Prof. Dr. Volkmar Pipek

Prof. Dr. Sabine Roller

Researchers:

Volker Hess

Dr. Matthias Korn

Gaia Mosconi, M.A.

Annette Strauch, M.A.

Student Researchers:

Jana Barutzky, Amanda Langer, Philipp Schubert, Philippe Zotz

 

The manifold studies of cooperative media within the SFB 1187 lead to the collection of large and heterogeneous data sets on contextualized cooperative relations that must be managed. This presents challenges for sustainable research data management. Therefore, new research data infrastructures to support researchers in the SFB are devised to meet the various challenges. Appropriate base services for data storage are developed for a sustainable research data management, which enable the storage and management of research data on cooperation contexts and relations.

Read more in the section on Research Data Management

 

The socio-technical study and design of cooperative research practices within the SFB is another central aspect of the subproject. Interdisciplinary and cooperative research practices are documented in an actor- and activity-oriented manner and made transparent for cooperating researchers. Through the study and design of cooperative research media, the subproject deals with the possibilities and limitations of different forms of cooperation in the social sciences and humanities in the joint collection, analysis, and reuse of research data.

To support digital cooperative research practices within and between subprojects, INF develops and provides various exchange platforms as well as research tools and research infrastructures facilitating novel methods of data collection and analysis.

Read more in the sections on Research Tech Lab and Research Tools and Infrastructures

 

Contact: inf-kontakt@sfb1187.uni-siegen.de

Office Hours (during the semester): Wednesdays, 10-12 a.m., AH-A 222

Intranet of the SFB 1187: http://social.sfb1187.uni-siegen.de/ (under construction)

 

Research Data Management

In subproject INF and at the University of Siegen, ZIMT is working together with the Siegen University Library toward providing a sustainable research data infrastructure for researchers throughout the SFB 1187, as well as finding appropriate solutions for research data management.

The term research data management refers to all activities to be carried out in the context of research data, which result along the data life cycle:

(1) creation of data – (2) data processing – (3) data analysis – (4) data archiving – (5) data access – (6) data re-use

 

Image: https://www.forschungsdaten.info/themen/planen-und-strukturieren/datenlebenszyklus/

 

ZIMT is committed to providing sustainable and quality-assured research data, working on guidelines for research data management as well as the provision of services and advisory structures. ZIMT closely cooperates with partners that already offer infrastructures for user needs in the digital humanities and social sciences (e.g., DARIAH, RADAR, RDA, nestor).

 

Research Tech Lab / Gestaltungslabor

The Research Tech Lab, coordinated by INF and A05, is an open forum for exchange for all members of the SFB 1187. In the Research Tech Lab, we explore, discuss, and design digital research approaches, tools, and instruments. The basic assumption of the Research Tech Lab is that IT design takes place in everyday use and involves the continuous appropriation of (digital) methods, tools, instruments, and infrastructures. Design is an important part of daily research practices. The Research Tech Lab thus calls for participation of all subprojects. Based on a 'Living Lab' approach, the subprojects are given the opportunity to discuss, analyse, and reflect their experiences with research tools and infrastructures.

The Research Tech Lab usually takes place every two weeks during the semester. Additional room for further exchange and discussion is provided online on the SFB Intranet.

 

Research Tools and Infrastructures

INF pools expertise for the selection, evaluation, and use of specific digital research tools and infrastructures for all subprojects and coordinates, in cooperation with interested subprojects, the necessary technical and methodological developments.

In particular, INF offers a range of specific research tools and infrastructures for the SFB 1187, supporting the conduct of social science and humanities research.

Social Media Observatories

Social Media Observatories provide a platform for students and researchers from all disciplines interested in doing research with or on social media. Developed and maintained by INF, the Social Media Observatories support data collection and analysis of and within social media platforms, including Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube, and Google+. Particular attention in the extension of the Social Media Observatories rests on supporting the collection not only of public data, but also of semi- and non-public social media data. As part of this effort, INF advices individual projects in assessing, selecting, applying, and extending existing tools and services for monitoring and analysing social media data.

Mobile Data Collection, Mobile Ethnography

To support studies of mobile usage behaviour in natural contexts, INF develops and offers various technical tools based on modern mobile devices (e.g., smart phones, tablets). Tools for mobile data collection enable the gathering of reliable data about contexts of use (e.g., through screenshots/screencasts, audio recordings, GPS information, touch events, motion and position sensors, information about used apps and duration of use). The further development of the tools is primarily aimed at being able to collect usage contexts across devices, which enables, e.g., to capture collocation relationships or to link mobile usage data with additional ethnographic material.

SFB 1187 ›Medien der Kooperation‹ an der Universität Siegen

INF - Infrastrukturkonzepte für die Beforschung kooperativer Medien

 

Projektleiter*innen:

Prof. Dr. Volkmar Pipek

Prof. Dr. Sabine Roller

Mitarbeiter*innen:

Volker Hess

Dr. Matthias Korn (assoziiertes Mitglied)

Gaia Mosconi, M.A.

Dr. Michael Dahnke

Friederike Breuer, M.A.

Studentische Mitarbeiter*innen:

Philipp Schubert, Md Ashikur Rahman, Istiaq Ahmed Khan

Ehemalige Mitarbeiter*innen:

Annette Strauch, M.A.

Ehemalige Studentische Mitarbeiter*innen:

Amanda Langer, Philippe Zotz, Jana Barutzky

 

Die vielfältigen Untersuchungen von kooperativen Medien im SFB 1187 führen zu einer Sammlung großer und heterogener Datenmengen über hoch kontextbezogene Kooperationszusammenhänge, die es zu verwalten gilt. Dies stellt eine Herausforderung für ein nachhaltiges Forschungsdatenmanagement dar. Für die ForscherInnen im SFB werden deshalb neue unterstützende Forschungsdateninfrastrukturen konzipiert, die den vielfältigen Herausforderungen gerecht werden. So werden Basisdienste zur Datenspeicherung für ein nachhaltiges Forschungsdatenmanagement entwickelt, die eine Speicherung und Verwaltung von Forschungsdaten über kontextbezogene Kooperationszusammenhänge ermöglichen.

Mehr dazu im Abschnitt Forschungsdatenmanagement

 

Die sozio-technische Untersuchung und Gestaltung kooperativer Forschungspraktiken im SFB ist ein weiterer zentraler Aspekt des Teilprojektes. Die interdisziplinäre und kooperative Forschungspraxis wird dabei in einer akteurInnen- und aktivitätsorientierten Weise dokumentiert und für kooperierende ForscherInnen transparent gemacht. Durch die Untersuchung und Gestaltung kooperativer Forschungsmedien thematisiert das Teilprojekt so die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen unterschiedlicher Kooperationsformen in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften in der gemeinsamen Erfassung, Analyse und Weiterverwendung von Forschungsdaten.

Zur Unterstützung kooperativer, digitaler Forschungspraktiken innerhalb und zwischen den Teilprojekten entwickelt und offeriert INF verschiedene Austauschplattformen sowie Forschungswerkzeug und -infrastrukturen für neue Methoden der Datenerhebung und -analyse.

Mehr dazu in den Abschnitten Gestaltungslabor und Forschungswerkzeuge und -infrastrukturen

Kontakt: inf-kontakt@sfb1187.uni-siegen.de

Sprechstunde (während des Semesters): Mittwochs, 10-12 Uhr, AH-A 222

Intranet des SFB 1187: http://social.sfb1187.uni-siegen.de/ (im Aufbau)

 

Forschungsdatenmanagement

Im Teilprojekt INF und an der Universität Siegen hat es sich das ZIMT zusammen mit der Universitätsbibliothek Siegen zur Aufgabe gemacht, eine nachhaltige Forschungsdateninfrastruktur für ForscherInnen im gesamten SFB 1187 anzubieten und darüber hinaus Lösungen für das Forschungsdatenmanagement zu finden.

Der Begriff Forschungsdatenmanagement bezieht sich auf alle Aktivitäten, die im Zusammenhang mit Forschungsdaten stehen und entlang des Datenlebenszyklus stattfinden:

Image: https://www.forschungsdaten.info/themen/planen-und-strukturieren/datenlebenszyklus/

 

Das ZIMT ist bestrebt, nachhaltige und qualitätsgesicherte Forschungsdaten bereitzustellen und arbeitet an Richtlinien für das Forschungsdatenmanagement, an der Bereitstellung von Dienstleistungen und an beratenden Strukturen. Das ZIMT arbeitet mit Partnern zusammen, die bereits Infrastrukturen für die Bedarfe der Nutzer in den digitalen Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften anbieten (z.B. DARIAH, RADAR, RDA, nestor).

 

Gestaltungslabor / Research Tech Lab

Das von INF und A05 koordinierte Gestaltungslabor ist ein offenes Austauschforum für alle Mitglieder des SFB 1187. Im Gestaltungslabor werden gemeinsam digitale Forschungsansätze, -instrumente und -werkzeuge exploriert, diskutiert und gestaltet. Die Grundannahme des Gestaltungslabors ist, dass IT-Gestaltung im alltäglichen Benutzen stattfindet und die kontinuierliche Aneignung von (digitalen) Methoden, Werkzeugen, Instrumenten und Infrastrukturen miteinbezieht. Gestaltung ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil täglicher Forschungspraxis. Im Gestaltungslabor wird daher die Forschungspraxis selbst zum Thema gemacht und bezieht alle Teilprojekte mit ein. Basierend auf einem ‚Living Lab’-Ansatz wird den Teilprojekten Raum gegeben, ihre Erfahrungen mit Forschungswerkzeugen und -infrastrukturen zu diskutieren, zu analysieren und zu reflektieren.

Das Gestaltungslabor findet während des Semesters in der Regel alle zwei Wochen statt. Zusätzlich ist Raum für weitergehenden Austausch und Diskussion auch online im Intranet gegeben.

 

Forschungswerkzeuge und -infrastrukturen

INF bündelt Kompetenzen zu Auswahl, Evaluation und Einsatz spezifischer digitaler Forschungswerkzeuge und -infrastrukturen für alle Teilprojekte und koordiniert die dafür notwendigen technischen und methodischen Weiterentwicklungen in Kooperation mit interessierten Teilprojekten.

Insbesondere stellt INF eine Reihe spezifischer Forschungswerkzeuge und -infrastrukturen für den SFB 1187 bereit.

Social Media Observatories

Die „Social Media Observatories“ bieten eine Plattform für Studierende und ForscherInnen aus allen Disziplinen, die sich für die Forschung mit oder in sozialen Medien interessieren. Entwickelt und unterhalten von INF, unterstützen die Social Media Observatories die Datenerfassung und -analyse von und in von Social Media-Plattformen, darunter Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube und Google+. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit in der Weiterentwicklung der Social Media Observatories liegt in der Unterstützung der Erfassung nicht nur öffentlicher Daten, sondern auch semi- und nichtöffentlicher Social Media-Daten. Im Rahmen dieser Bemühungen berät INF einzelne Projekte bei der Bewertung, Auswahl, Anwendung und Erweiterung bestehender Werkzeuge und Dienstleistungen zur Überwachung und Analyse von Social Media-Daten.

Mobile Datenerhebung, Mobile Ethnographie

Zur Unterstützung von Studien über mobiles Nutzungsverhalten in natürlichen Kontexten bietet INF verschiedene technische Werkzeuge auf Basis moderner mobiler Endgeräte an (z.B. Smartphones, Tablets) und entwickelt diese auch weiter. Werkzeuge zur mobilen Datenerhebung ermöglichen zuverlässige Daten über den Kontext einer NutzerIn zu erfassen (z.B. durch Screenshots/Screencasts, Audioaufzeichnungen, GPS Informationen, Touch-Ereignisse, Bewegungs- und Lagesensordaten, Informationen zu genutzten Apps und Nutzungsdauer). Die Weiterentwicklung der Werkzeuge zielt vor allem darauf ab, auch geräteübergreifend Nutzungskontexte erheben zu können, um so z.B. auch Kollokationszusammenhänge zu erfassen oder mobile Nutzungsdaten mit zusätzlichem ethnographischen Datenmaterial zu verknüpfen.

 

Publikationen

Aktuell

Wulf, Volker, Volkmar Pipek, David Randall, Markus Rhode, Kjeld Schmidt und Gunnar Stevens, Hrsg. 2018. Socio-Informatics: A Practice-based Perspective on the Design and Use of IT Artifacts. First edition. Oxford, United Kingdom: Oxford University Press.

 

2019

Korn, Matthias, Wolfgang Reißmann, Tobias Röhl und David Sittler. 2019. Infrastructuring Publics: A Research Perspective. In: Infrastructuring Publics, hg. von Matthias Korn, Wolfgang Reißmann, Tobias Röhl, und David Sittler, 11–47. Springer VS.
Mosconi, G., Q. Li, D. Randall, H. Karasti, P. Tolmie, J. Barutzky, M. Korn und V. Pipek. 2019. Three Gaps in Opening Science. Journal of Computer Supported Cooperative Work 28, Nr. 3–4: 749–789.

 

2018

Curdt, Constanze, Marleen Grasse, Volker Hess, Nils Kasties, Ania López, Benedikt Magrean, Anja Perry, u. a. 2018. Zur Rolle Der Hochschulen - Positionspapier Der Landesinitiative Nfdi Und Expertengruppe Fdm Der Digitalen Hochschule Nrw Zum Aufbau Einer Nationalen Forschungsdateninfrastruktur. Zenodo, 13. April. doi:10.5281/zenodo.1217527, https://zenodo.org/record/1217527 (zugegriffen: 2. November 2018).
Hess, Volker, Thomas von Rekowski, Sabine Roller und Nicole Walger. 2018. Synergieeffekte durch Kooperation: Hintergründe, Aufgaben und Potentiale des Projekts  FoDaKo . Bibliothek Forschung & Praxis, 42(3) Auflage.
Karasti, Helena, Volkmar Pipek und Geoffrey Bowker. 2018. An Afterword to ‘Infrastructuring and  Collabo rative Design. Computer Supported Cooperative Work (CSCW) 27, Nr. 2: 267–289.
Pipek, Volkmar, Helena Karasti und Geoffrey Bowker, Hrsg. 2018. Special Issue: Infrastructuring and Collaborative Design, Part II. 2. Aufl. Bd. 27. Computer Supported Cooperative Work. Heidelberg: Springer Netherlands.
Randall, Dave, Juri Dachtera, Tobias Dyrks, Bernhard Nett, Volkmar Pipek, Leonardo Ramirez, Gunnar Stevens, Ina Wagner und Volker Wulf. 2018. Research into Design Research Practices: Supporting an  Agenda towards Self - Reflectivity and Transferability. In: Socio - Informatics  - A Practice - based  Perspective on the Design  and Use of IT Artefacts, 491–540. Oxford University Press.
Stevens, Gunnar und Volkmar Pipek. 2018. Making Use: Understanding, Studying, and Supporting Appropriation. In: Socio-Informatics - A Practice-based Perspective on the Design and Use of IT Artefacts, hg. von Volker Wulf, Volkmar Pipek, David Randall, Markus Rohde, Schmidt Kjeld, und Gunnar Stevens, 139–176. Oxford University Press.
Strauch, Annette. 2018. Research Data Management for the Collaborative Research Centre 1187, „Media of Cooperation“. https://www.rd-alliance.org/rda-11th-plenary-poster-session.
Strauch, Annette. 2018. Varieties of Cooperation. Mutually Making the Conditions of Mutual Making. In: . https://www.hsozkult.de/conferencereport/id/tagungsberichte-7531.
Strauch, Annette. 2018. Medien der Kooperation. Forschungsdaten.org. http://www.forschungsdaten.org/index.php/Medien_der_Kooperation.
Strauch, Annette. 2018. Medien der Kooperation SFB 1187. DHd. https://dig-hum.de/forschung/projekt/medien-der-kooperation-sfb-1187.
Wulf, Volker, Volkmar Pipek und David Randall. 2018. Socio-Informatics: Intertwining Analytical and Design-Oriented Research into Social Practices. In: Socio-Informatics - A Practice-based Perspective on the Design and Use of IT Artefacts, hg. von Volker Wulf, Volkmar Pipek, David Randall, Markus Rohde, Kjeld Schmidt, und Gunnar Stevens, 541–550. Oxford University Press.

 

2017

Curdt, Constanze, Volker Hess, Ania López, Benedikt Magrean, Dominik Rudolph und Johanna Vompras. 2017. Herausforderung Forschungsdatenmanagement - Unterstützung der Hochschulen durch eine einrichtungsübergreifende Kooperation in NRW. In: E-Science-Tage 2017: Forschungsdaten managen, hg. von Vincent Heuveline und Jonas Kratzke, 95–103. Heidelberg: heiBOOKS. https://doi.org/10.11588/heibooks.285.377.
Korn, Matthias, Marén Schorch, Volkmar Pipek, Matthew Bietz, Carsten Østerlund, Rob Procter, David Ribes und Robin Williams. 2017. E-Infrastructures for Research Collaboration: The Case of the Social Sciences and Humanities. Proceedings of the 20th ACM Conference on Computer-Supported Cooperative Work and Social Computing Companion (CSCW 2017 Companion): 415–420. doi:doi.org/10.1145/3022198.3022655, .
Korn, Matthias, Aparecido Fabiano Pinnati de Carvalho, Amanda Langer, Phillipe Zots, Volker Wulf und Volkmar Pipek. 2017. Nomadic Culture in Academic Settings: Pervasive Commuting and Institutional  Support as Defining Elements. International Reports on Socio - Informatics  (IRSI) 14, Nr. 3: 21–27.
Korn, Matthias, Marén Schorch, Volkmar Pipek, Matthew Bietz, Carsten Østerlund, Rob Procter, David Ribes und Robin Williams. 2017. E-Infrastructures for Research Collaboration: The Case of the Social Sciences and Humanities. In: Proceedings of the 20th ACM Conference on Computer-Supported Cooperative Work and Social Computing Companion (CSCW 2017 Companion).
Kratzke, Jonas und Vincent Heuveline. 2017. E-Science-Tage 2017. http://doi.org/10.11588/heibooks.285.377, http://books.ub.uni-heidelberg.de/index.php/heibooks/catalog/book/285 (zugegriffen: 2. November 2018).
Mosconi, Gaia, Matthias Korn, Christian Reuter, Peter Tolmie, Maurizio Teli und Volkmar Pipek. 2017. From Facebook to the Neighbourhood: Infrastructuring of Hybrid Community Engagement. Computer Supported Cooperative Work 26, Nr. 4–6: 959–1003.
Pipek, Volkmar und Matthias Korn. 2017. Appropriation Infrastructures for Research Communities of  Practice. Workshop on E - Infrastructures for Research Collaboration: The Case of  the Social  Sciences and Humanities at CSCW 2017.
Pipek, Volkmar, Helena Karasti und Geoffrey Bowker. 2017. Special Issue: Infrastructuring and Collaborative Design. 1.–2. Aufl. Bd. 26. Computer Supported Cooperative Work. Heidelberg: Springer Netherlands.
Pipek, Volkmar, Helena Karasti und Geoffrey Bowker. 2017. A Preface to ‘Infrastructuring and  Collaborative Design. Computer Supported Cooperative Work (CSC W) 26, Nr. 1–2: 1–5.
Rekowski, Thomas von und Volker Hess. 2017. Fodako - Forschungsdaten Im Kooperationsverbund. http://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.1230525, https://zenodo.org/record/1230525 (zugegriffen: 2. November 2018).
Strauch, Annette. 2017. Komplementarität von OER und Open Science : Schwerpunkt Forschungsdaten. In: .
Strauch, Annette. 2017. Medien der Kooperation. DINI Jahrestagung.

 

2016

Curdt, Constanze, Florian Krämer, Volker Hess, Ania Lopez, Benedikt Magrean, Dominik Rudolph und Johanna Vompras. 2016. Einführung In Forschungsdatenmanagement (7. November). http://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.165126, https://zenodo.org/record/165126 (zugegriffen: 2. November 2018).
Ludwig, Thomas, Christian Reuter und Volkmar Pipek. 2016. From Publics to Communities: Researching  the Path of Shared Issues Through ICT. Computer Supported Cooperative Work: The Journal of  Collaborative Computing (JCSCW) 25, Nr. 2–3: 193–225.
Ludwig, Thomas, Julian Dax, Volkmar Pipek und David Randall. 2016. Work or Leisure? Designing a UserCentered Approach for Researching Activity ‘in the Wild’. Journal of Personal and Ubiquitous Computing (PUC) 20, Nr. 4: 487–515. https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s00779-016-0935-7.
Reuter, Christian, Thomas Ludwig, Christoph Kotthaus, Marc-André Kaughold, Elmar von Radziewski und Volkmar Pipek. 2016. Big Data in a Crisis? Creating Social Media Datasets for Emergency Management  Research. i - com: Journal of Interactive Media 15, Nr. 3: 249–264.

 

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. | By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies. Weitere Informationen | More information

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen